Shiny New Updates

After resurrecting my blog from it’s seven month hibernation I looked at it and something wasn’t quite right. Everything was exactly as it was left but I just didn’t like the look of it any more. So I decided to change it all. It’s not the first time I’ve done it, back in July/August last year I changed my blog from it’s default theme into the grey and atmospheric theme I had kept until now. Looking at it this afternoon I didn’t even like the name I had chosen for it.

Now that everything’s been redecorated, you might notice some differences. It isn’t grey and atmospheric. It doesn’t have a weird name (well, actually it still does but it’s a different weird name). It is now all hippy like, airy and generally more welcoming. I suppose before I was trying to go for a hard-hitting information blog but I’ve come to realise that it just doesn’t fit with my style of writing. In the words of Anton Ego (who is the restaurant critic in the Disney Pixar film Ratatouille) “it’s all about perspective”. When you write anywhere up to 3 blog posts a week you haven’t really got time to step back and look at them. Sure, there’s time to proofread and pick out your awful sins against the rules of grammar, but you never really have the time or the will to read through what you’ve written and try to understand what you’re writing about.

In many ways that’s the tricky part of blogging; you can sit at a keyboard and type away with whatever comes into your head but it never really goes anywhere. Quite literally, you’re rambling about your head occasionally throwing out sentences here and there. Quite a few of my early blog posts are very much like this, lurching about in my sea of thoughts, throwing new ideas out with each paragraph. It can often be interesting to read, and it’s perhaps a key part of blogging but when you read back over what you’ve written it seems cluttered and generally insane.

If I don’t get the chance to read over what I’ve written you’ll probably see me slide back into rambling, ranting and letting my mind wander freely. I don’t want to sound cheesy and cliche but “The Cavern” is a pretty big place now; there’s plenty of space to jump around in the array of ideas floating about. What I write in my blogs is very much spontaneous, so I guess we’ll all have to wait and see what becomes of the third generation of tomhowlin.wordpress.com

If you haven’t yet, subscribing is an awesome way of showing your appreciation of what I write, so consider signing up in the box on the right.

Leave a Reply

